How to Become a Private Investigator in South Carolina
In the State of South Carolina, to be a Private Investigator you have to be licensed through the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED). SLED regulates all private investigation businesses administratively from Chapter 73, Article 4 from South Carolina Statues. South Carolina State Law Chapter 18 regulates private security and investigation agencies.
The licensee must submit an application and pay a non-refundable, annual fee of $350 dollars. Refer to SLED’s new or renewal private investigation business requirements. Below are only a few of the requirements and information related to becoming a certified and licensed, private investigator in the State of South Carolina.
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Citizen of the United States
- Not been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude (conduct that is considered contrary to community standards of justice)
- Be of good moral character
- Does not unlawfully use drugs
- Does not abuse alcohol
- Has not been dishonorable discharged from the military
- Three (3) years experience (see experience section)
The private investigation license holder or licensee is required to have three (3) years full-time experience as a private investigator with a licensed private investigative agency. This agency might include law firm, government agency, private or non-profit corporation or in associated with SLED. This fulltime experience is equal to 2,000 hours per year. For SLED to accept the 6,000 hours of experience (three full-time years), it must be completely documented and certified. The hours have to be of a combination of part-time and full-time experience. SLED will grant credit toward required experience based on certificate or degree earned from a SLED authorized accredited educational institution.
|Certificate for Study of Private Investigation||6 months|
|Associate Degree||6 months|
|Bachelor’s Degree||1 year|
|Graduate Degree||1.5 years|
A surety bond of at least $10,000 is required by the State of South Carolina.
If the licensee is prior military, submit a copy of your DD Form 214.
The application will take approximately 4 to 6 weeks to process.
South Carolina only has a private investigator reciprocity agreement with the State of North Carolina. This agreement has stipulations; refer to SLED’s Regulatory Services Unit or North Carolina’s Private Protective Services Board for a copy of the agreement
Private Investigator Continuing Education
– 12 hours of documented training (SLED approved) required every 24 months (4 hours of SLED training and 8 hours of approved industry specific training)
Disclaimer: Before taking any private investigation continuing education training make sure it is approved by SLED.
South Carolina Law Enforcement Division PO BOX 21398 Columbia, South Carolina 29211-1398 Office: 803-737-9000 Fax: 803-896-7041